Honesty

I consider myself an honest person.

However, that doesn’t mean that I am not sorely tempted to be dishonest once in a while.

The lovely banking institution with whom we do our business made a mistake the other day. They duplicated a deposit. We put in a few thousand dollars, and TA DA they recorded it TWICE, effectively doubling the money. – And we’re not talking just a few hundred dollars here, we made OVER $3000.00 with one little bank mistake.

After I noticed the error, instead of immediately calling up the bank, I decided it would be fun to see if they would find their mistake. So I watched and waited a day, nothing.

Another day, nothing.

All the while I am imagining all the wonderful things I could do with an extra wad of cash, and cursing the bank in my head for making the mistake in the first place, and making me chose whether or not to abide by one of the principles I claim to pattern my life after. Honesty.  Am I really honest? Would they ever notice the mistake?

Well, I called the bank this morning to alert them of the situation. The woman was less that friendly and acted like SHE was doing ME a favor by fixing the problem so that my account balanced again.  Thanks.

I am still mourning the loss of the great lens I was dreaming of getting with some of the “bonus” money from the bank.

When I look deep inside myself, I do know that I’d never really enjoy that lens, and I’d always feel guilty for keeping something that didn’t belong to me.

But it wasn’t easy being honest.

5 thoughts on “Honesty

  1. It is aggravating when people are “grumpy” especially when you do the right thing. You just have to feel sorry for them that their life is so miserable they can’t even be polite to a customer. Unfortunately, there are far too many of these people out there. On the positive side, you definitely will get blessings for being honest. I am really proud of you!

  2. Lillie,
    I admire your honesty and your forthrightness writing a post about it. It isn’t always easy but good for you making the right choice.
    Hugs,
    Joanie

  3. Just the other day on the news I heard of a family who had $6 million put in their bank account on mistake by their bank. Needless to say they have disappeared and are now wanted for stealing that money. I guess making the right decision and being honest eliminates bigger problems that could happen.

Leave a Reply

