Table Rock

We drove the family to Idaho Falls last weekend, and (after ditching the kids with Dad, Mom, and Liberty – thanks guys!) we hiked Table Rock with some of the extended Ricks family .   What a spectacular hike!   We climbed about 4000 ft in 4 miles up the steeper trail, and then meandered through the valley trail on the way back down.  Great scenery on both trails.

Of course the highlight of the climb is supposed to be the view of the Grand Teton from the top of Table Rock, but that will have to wait until next summer.

NOT because I didn’t make it to the top, I DID, in the midst of a raging blizzard.  Obviously though, there wasn’t much of a view.  Oh well, next time.

This is Table Rock BEFORE the blizzard!

Table

We stopped for lunch at the tree line on the way down – We were freezing!

Table RockThe storm swirled around us, sometimes snowing, other times the sun would break through, but it was cold!

Our life saver came in the form of my always prepared husband. In the twinkle of an eye he had a nice cozy fire burning.   The Fire

AAAhhh!  It was so nice I almost sat on it!

What a perfect day!  I can’t wait to do it again next year!

Happy Hikers

3 thoughts on “Table Rock

  1. I guess I have not checked your blog in a while, you had quite a few postings. I wish that we lived closer together so that I could learn from you. I can’t believe that you dried all those apples, you are so industrious. I love the scrapbooking nook. Clark did a really good job on it. That pictures of the lake from the post of you and your friends hike looks like a print that you would hang over your fireplace. You are getting really good at photography. Don’t you love having a man around who knows how to get a good fire going, not to mention all the other things Clark is good at. Some of my friends don’t like to camp because they say it is too much work. Rob does most of the work and I get to reap most of the benefits. Maybe next year we will plan a camp out together.

Leave a Reply

